Me-Made May, part three: graduation weekend

Thursday, May 12

IMG_0232

All I did today was sew & snuggle with Ramona, so I just wore jammies all day. This owl print Renfrew featured prominently. It was a lazy day as far as cleaning the house, getting dressed, combing my hair, etc, but on the plus side, I finished my garment for the first Indie Pattern Month challenge (theme: new to me) by dinnertime. You will have to wait until next month to see it!

Friday, May 13

IMG_0233

It’s astonishing that I got almost halfway through the month before busting out these jeans. I wear them all the time. I really need to make more. I have denim on hand to make three more pairs, including some denim printed with huge blue flowers. It was deeply discounted in the Hancock going out of business sales, & I just couldn’t resist, even though Jared was PISSED that I was taking so long shopping when he wanted to go home & work on job applications. Sorry, Jared.

Saturday, May 14

IMG_0234

Jared’s PhD hooding ceremony was tonight. That’s right, now he is DOCTOR Jared, thank you very much. He got all dressed up in a suit. He even polished his best dress shoes. I didn’t have to get dressed up because I was just in the audience with Ramona & Jared’s parents, but I wore this dress anyway because I told Jared I would. (Not that it’s a dressy dress. I wear it plenty just to take Ramona to gymnastics class or whatever.) I will say, this was not the best outfit I could have worn for wrangling a squirmy three-year-old & trying to stop her from kicking other audience members in the head while she tried to turn herself upside down. The ceremony started right at her usual bedtime & lasted for TWO HOURS. She was a trooper, but she had a complete meltdown when we finally got home. She was screaming like she was possessed by demons & clawing at my throat. It was a little bit scary, to be honest. She was just insanely over-tired. She fell asleep the instant she hit the crib.

Sunday, May 15

IMG_0290

It was a bit chilly (yay!) so I got to wear a long-sleeved top. Jared, Ramona, & I went out for brunch with Jared’s parents & then I took a nap because I apparently forgot to drink all of my coffee (???) & developed a caffeine withdrawal headache. I also wore something else today that will make its blog debut next month as part of Indie Pattern Month. I absolutely love it & am excited to write about it!

Monday, May 16

IMG_0286

It’s even colder today than it was yesterday. On the one hand, yay! On the other hand, today was the day that Jared’s parents were going to do something fun with Ramona, like go to the zoo. But it’s raining & like 50 degrees, so…Jared’s parents taking Ramona for the day also means Jared & I have the chance to do something fun, just the two of us. Like go see the Red Sox play the Royals in Kansas City. We haven’t been to a baseball game since before Ramona was born. But if it’s raining all day…

In any case, it gives me a chance to wear my Jasper sweater, which I absolutely love, even though I made it using two different black sweatshirt fleeces, with two different fiber contents, so they photograph differently, & the fleece with a higher cotton content is already starting to pill like crazy. Thanks for nothing, insanely expensive cotton sweatshirt fleece.

I’m not really sure I’m learning much from Me-Made May yet this year. I guess I’m learning that I really need more jeans, & more warm weather separates. But generally speaking, my me-made wardrobe is pretty robust & full of items I wear all the time.

I am sewing a ton right now for Indie Pattern Month. We are moving in July (signed the lease on Friday), so I expect June is going to be a crazy whirlwind of packing. I’m not necessarily thrilled with the new house, but it does have central air (crucial for someone like me, who suffers from heat-induced psychosis), a washer & dryer right in the kitchen (which will make pre-washing fabric a lot easier–no more braving a spider-infested basement), & it’s only three blocks away from the preschool that Ramona is starting at in August. That means my commute to & from the school is very short, giving me six child-free hours per week in which to sew to my heart’s content! Plus we’re paying $150 less in rent every month. Honestly, even if it ends up being kind of a craphole…we’re already in a craphole in our current place. How much worse could it be? (Don’t answer that.)

 

2 responses to “Me-Made May, part three: graduation weekend

  1. I still want to make a Jasper sweatshirt! I just have waaaaay too much stuff in the queue already.

    • I feel you. I want to alter the Jasper into a t-shirt because I really like the style lines & the fit, but I have a thousand other things in the sewing queue already, & just took on another commissioned project.

Leave a Reply

