cats vs. sewing

WordPress tells me that I’ve had a few days of my “stats booming”. Unfortunately, I don’t know when that happened & I failed to capitalize on it. I’ve been a little checked out lately.

I have a few new things I have sewn that I need to blog soon. The problem is just taking pictures! It’s such a pain in the ass to find time for Jared to take pictures, & the ones I take on my own are kind of crummy. I feel like I should maybe just bite the bullet & upgrade to a camera that is compatible with a remote. If anyone reading this has any affordable recommendations, let me know. I really don’t need anything fancy. I’m not looking to go pro.

I’m in this weird place with the sewing where I have several projects all cut out & ready to hit the machine, several more patterns cut & altered & ready for fabric (& the fabric is ready to be cut), & some other patterns set aside with likely fabric choices. & I’m not moving on any of it because sewing has been so frustrating for me lately. Or, rather, sewing with a cat in the house has been so frustrating.

This cat has no dignity. #tuxedocatsofinstagram

A post shared by Ciara Xyerra (@ciaraxyerra) on

 

Sewing is awesome. Our new cat is a total asshole. The cat we had before this only had three legs, so she was not much for jumping. If I tried to do stuff on the floor (those horrible days before I had a cutting table), she got in the way, but it wasn’t bad & she wasn’t destructive. But Biscuit is both constantly in the way & destructive. She chewed up a pattern after I had cut it out (luckily I was able to tape it back together), she jumped on another pattern WHILE I was cutting it & tore a big rip in it (also fixable, but Jesus Christ), I constantly have to shoo her off the ironing board because I’m sincerely worried she’s going to burn herself on the iron, & she has knocked my thread off the spool pin WHILE I was sewing! If I leave a bobbin or foot out while I work (like if I’m switching back & forth between thread colors or using a zipper foot for a minute), she will instantly spirit them away. & it’s not the safest for a cat to play with thread. If they eat it, it can get twisted around their organs & make them very sick. It’s bad enough that this cat is fucking up my sewing time. I don’t need to be paying hundreds of dollars in vet bills too.

We got this cat to deal with the mice, & we haven’t seen a mouse since we got her, so mission accomplished on that front. But I really resent having to keep a spray bottle next to me while I sew to scare the cat away. She will attack fabric as I am feeding it through the machine. She sticks her paws between my scissors blades while I’m cutting! She’s a menace to my projects & herself! She hasn’t gotten hurt yet, but dude. I need my vigilance to protect my child. I don’t have the energy to pay attention to an asshole cat with no sense of self-preservation.

The only time I get a break is when she’s napping on my bed, on my quilt. You know, the gorgeous quilt I made that took me months & that I spent over sixty hours hand-quilting? The one with the white sashing? She’s getting her black fur all over it & making it smell like a litterbox. I try to shut her out of the room, but Jared leaves the door open a lot.

IMG_9641

So, it turns out that I thought I liked cats a lot more than I do. I think maybe I’m not a cat person. I’m a Charlotte person & now Charlotte is dead & no other cat will ever compare.

IMG_0689

here’s a cute cat photo to keep you warm while you contemplate the mysteries of your life.

I used the time during Ramona’s nap (which didn’t happen, so it was just quiet time) today to cut out some new patterns. I got out a bra pattern I bought like seriously a year & a half ago & was getting ready to trace it off for the first time. I read the directions on choosing a size again &…turns out I guess my size has changed since I bought the pattern! & now this pattern isn’t right for me! It goes up to a 40D, which used to be my size, but I guess now I need a 38F? I am really torn between sewing a 40D anyway just to see how it fits, & just accepting that I need to get a new pattern. I’d muslin the 40D, but you can’t really get a sense of how a bra fits until it’s got all the elastics & everything on it, so muslins don’t make a ton of sense. I keep Googling bra-fitting methods in the hopes that I will find one that says I’m a 40D, but no dice.

Maybe I will drown my sorrows in FINALLY cutting out the McCall’s 6696 pattern I bought approximately thirty seconds after it was released & never touched again. I think it’s an obvious choice for March’s Monthly Stitch challenge, “Sew hot right now!” ie, sew something trendy. I’m probably the last woman in possession of a functioning sewing machine to tackle this pattern.

I am also stressing out about sewing a swimsuit top. I made one last spring that was such an epic fail that it put me off swimsuit-sewing until now. I’m kind of planning to baste powernet to the fashion fabric…maybe even two layers with the DOGS opposing each other? Is that enough for a 38F chest? I was going to make a top from the pattern I already had, but I was too anxious about the fact that it doesn’t have cup sizes. Who releases a swimsuit pattern without cup sizes? So I got a different pattern that of course only goes up to D & I can’t decide whether to just go for it & see what happens (all my RTW bras are Ds & they fit okay, & reviews of this pattern say it runs big, which is obviously not what you want in a swimsuit) or if I should try to grade it up a little.

This is the boring shit that keeps me up at night! I should just stop fretting over it & tackle it. Ramona actually asked me to sew the other day while we were hanging out together & I was like, “I can’t! Everything is too stressful!” Maybe someday I will have my own sewing room, with a door I can shut against all cats.

 

2 responses to “cats vs. sewing

  1. I have yet to post in 2016, so you are way ahead of me. Maybe I should remedy that.

Leave a Reply

