there was william henry harrison. he died in thirty days!

i have pneumonia. i’m on my sixth day of constant fever. i’m on my third day of coughing fits that leave me wheezing & gasping for air. i’ve seen a doctor & have been prescribed various drugs that are supposed to open up my lungs & suppress my cough, but they don’t seem to be terribly effective.

right now i’m doing okay. if i just sit still & read or watch TV (i’ve watched eighteen episodes of “hoarders” in the last two days, which wasn’t a great choice because that show just makes me want to clean), the coughing isn’t as bad. but sometimes jared has to go teach & we don’t have anyone to help out with child care, so…that’s an adventure.

ramona was also sick for most of the week. so we spent a lot of time curled up in bed together, looking at picture books or just hanging out. she’s doing a lot better now, which is great for her but exhausting for me. jared had to teach this morning, so he brought me coffee & toast in bed. ramona was in the living room looking at books, & i could see her from the bed, so i just stayed put. at some point she got up & decided to “help” by closing the bedroom door. (she is like her mother in that she can’t stand for doors, drawers, cupboards, etc, to be left hanging open, or even just not firmly closed.) in attempting to muster the strength needed to get out of bed & open the door…i fell asleep. not sure how long i was in the bedroom asleep while the two-year-old roamed the house with no supervision. probably no more than half an hour. & truthfully, no part of the house is off-limits to her. we let her have the run of the place & anything dangerous is inaccessible to her. but still! not an ideal sitch.

i can’t wait to start feeling better. today i combed my hair for the first time in a week. it took nearly half an hour. i almost don’t remember what it feels like to be adequately hydrated. last weekend, jared helped me finish putting together my new sewing area as a valentine’s day gift, & i’ve barely had a chance to use it because i’ve been so sick. right now it’s all just heaped with coats & laundry.

someday i will be healthy again.

6 responses to “there was william henry harrison. he died in thirty days!

  1. Get well soon, Ciara! –Athena

  2. I know I’m late to the party… but I am glad to hear you’re feeling better! I can’t even imagine having to watch LJ with pneumonia. Just the thought of it makes me want to curl up in the fetal position.

    • the fact that she was sick too actually made it a lot easier. she spent a lot of time just laying in my arms, drinking her sippy. taking care of her single-handedly when i was so ridiculously sick completely sucked, but iv would have been a lot harder if i was wrangling a two-year-old at peak energy. so glad we are both better! (though i am STILL not 100%.)

Leave a Reply

