of minimal interest (with photos!)

i’ve been getting more comically hateful comments here than usual recently. that tends to happen when someone links to something i wrote months ago & suddenly people start flocking to the blog & sharing their goofy opinions. i usually don’t approve the comments of people who just come over to write things like, “you suck!” i’ll approve a comment with which i disagree if i feel like it adds to the conversation or the person is arguing in good faith. but stuff like, “everyone wishes you were dead” is not really all that helpful or interesting. which is really too bad, because sometimes the most asshole comments are also the funniest.

i think my new tagline for the blog should be, “come for the controversy…stay for the babysitters club reviews!” i like to think i have a little something to offer everyone.

i’m going to be in san francisco later this week. i haven’t been to the bay area since the summer of 2001. any recommendations for things to do/see/eat? preferably nothing that really costs a lot of money. i am not really looking to do any shopping or eat at fancy restaurants. buying the car really decimated my savings & i need to be careful for a little while in order to re-build it. i have some friends that live out there, so i’ll have some locals to show me the sights, but i expect i’ll also be spending a fair bit of time on my own. jared is going to be presenting at a conference, so he won’t necessarily be squiring me around the city full time.

i spent the afternoon writing fiction, so my creative energy is kind of tapped at the moment & i’m not feeling the magic i require to write a coherent blog post. but! i dreamed last night that i had a baby. except that the baby was cat. & i actually gave birth to it. & i was like, “this baby rules! it’s so cute, & also so soft!” & then i would pet it. i’d put it down in its crib for a nap & i was so happy because it would sleep for ages. i was like, “wow, having a baby is so much easier than i expected. it sleeps all the time!” & finally one of my friends pointed out, “yeah, it sleeps all the time because IT’S A CAT.” & i was like, “no way, dude, my baby is not a cat.”

i don’t know what this dream means. maybe it means that i have unrealistic expectations for parenthood. maybe it means that i have realistic expectations & my brain is trying to create an alternative narrative that is easier to handle. maybe it means that CATS RULE.

i am starting to get pumped for 2011. new year’s day is my favorite holiday. because you really don’t have to do anything but sit around & relish the concept of a fresh start. i haven’t put together my resolutions or anything yet. i like to savor the process. but it looks like 2011 will be kind of big. i will learn how to drive, jared will finish his master’s degree, & there is some possibility that we will start trying to have a baby (that is actually human). & maybe 2011 will also be the year i finally finish a novel. it seems like it could be within reach. on that note, i’m going to get back to my researching & writing. please enjoy some photos in lieu of more content:

my office a few months ago when i was getting rid of my zine collection.

ellen & kelly, partying hearty.

jared picking apples. he really is from new england!

my zine sweatshop.

this is a two-parter. this is the reader window of the cute just-gay-married car ericka & i saw in portland.

this part two. so romantic!

3 responses to “of minimal interest (with photos!)

  1. I think you should make “Come for the controversy, stay for the Babysitters Club reviews” your new blog tagline.

    That final picture is pretty awesome. I noticed the rainbow sticker on the first picture, and I could be wrong, but isn’t that the rainbow colors for bears?

  2. I second the possible new tagline.

    Love, love, love the cat baby dream.

  3. Okay, there are currently tears pouring down my face from laughing so hard as I read your bit about the cat/baby dream aloud to my partner… So awesome! Thanks… I needed that. Also, cats do rule.

Leave a Reply

