bumpwatch terror alert: week 19

remember when i had boobs that weren’t just part of an undifferentiated mass of torso? that was pretty cool.

front view:

when i showed jared this photo, he said, “look at that thing! i’m really starting to think that there will be two of you at the end of this whole mess.”

i’m almost to the halfway point! only a week to go! word on the street is that i now look “unmistakably pregnant”. that’s a quote from my therapist. it was cool to hear, but it was also kind of like, “oh, i really did maybe just look questionably fat before.” not that there’s anything wrong with that. it’s just kind of like when you haven’t seen someone in a while & you’ve lost 75 pounds in that time & when they see you, they are like, “wow, you look AMAZING!” thanks, but i guess i didn’t look amazing before? because i was a fatty fatty two by four, right? not that that’s ever happened to me. i’m more the type to GAIN 75 pounds & then see someone again. & they’re like, “oh, wow, i bet elastic waist pants are really comfortable.” okay, no one has ever said that to me. but they are comfortable, just for the record.

i had my first prenatal water aerobics class yesterday. here’s a little tidbit about pregnancy that i didn’t really know going in: it makes you really hot. temperature-wise. it’s because your body is producing way more progesterone than usual & progesterone makes you feel warm. i force jared to sleep with the air conditioning on every night because i am always way warmer than he is. so, there’s a bunch of ladies in various stages of pregnancy gathered together for this water aerobics class. the most pregnant woman is due in late october & the most newly-pregnant is due in early march. & i had forgotten because i’ve been going to the outdoor pool all summer, but they keep the indoor aquatic center really warm all the time, i guess for all the oldsters & small children that use the pools & have trouble regulating their body temperatures when they’re all wet. i asked which pool the class was happening in & was directed to a pool i’ve never been to before. i’ve taken two previous water aerobics classes. one was in the shallow end of the regular lap pool, & one was in the deep end of the olympic-sized pool. this time i was directed to the “three-lane warm water pool”. yeah, they had a bunch of over-heated pregnant ladies splashing around in artificially heated water! i guess it’ll be nice if i stick with the class until i’m due, but the combo of hot aquatic center/warm water/pregnant/august was a bit much.

i was chatting with one my classmates about pregnancy stuff & i said something about how much i love maternity jeans. mine are kind of annoying because i guess i have actually lost weight everywhere except for my bump in the last few months. they are a little too big & i have to hike them up a lot. i am probably going to buy a pair of maternity corduroys too, one size smaller. but it’s still such a stroke of genius to do away with the waistband & instead harness the power of a large belly to hold up one’s pants. anyway, this lady was like, “you know what’s even better? seriously, save your money & get yourself some full-panel black maternity yoga pants. you can wear them out, you can wear them to bed, no one will know the difference & they are so comfortable.”

i do in fact have a pair of soft maternity pajama pants that resemble yoga pants, & they are very comfortable. & i do wear them as much as humanly possible. but i have not yet gone so far as to, like, wear them to the bank. i’m willing to accept that my boundaries around wearing pajamas pants beyond the confines of my porch might change as i become even more pregnant, but this was a lightning bolt moment for me. i’ve never met ANYONE who was more into finding a way around wearing real clothes than i am. jared had to sit me down last year & give me a little talk that went like this: “to me, you’re always beautiful. but maybe if you dressed less like a hobo…?” i actually made it an item on my daily to-do list to get dressed every day. sometimes it didn’t happen until 8pm, but as long as there was a bra & maybe some pants with buttons donned at SOME point during the day, i felt like i was making the effort to blend in with humanity.

i hit another baby consignment sale this weekend & picked up a clip-on high chair for only $15! usually those bad boys are like $50. it’s in great shape & fits perfectly on our table. i knew i wanted a clip-on high chair, even though the baby obviously will not be needing it for quite a while, because our house is small & we don’t have anywhere to stash a whole massive regular high chair, even if it folds up. this guy folds down small enough that it can just go in the closet with all the other baby stuff.

& the diaper covers i ordered from rockabye booty arrived as well.

OMG 2 cute 2 B 4gotten

we have been planning to use diaper covers & prefolds when the baby is really little because it can be hard to find a pocket diaper that will fit a newborn. & young babies aren’t mobile yet so you don’t need to worry so much about their diapers being really trim. but i am starting to have a change of heart now these covers are actually in my possession. maybe i’ll use prefolds until potty training just to keep these babies in the rotation. our baby will have the cutest diapers in the county!

7 responses to “bumpwatch terror alert: week 19

  1. Um, yeah, I definitely envy your unmistakable pregnancy belly. I am still in the questionably fat zone, and just look like I gained ten pounds. Enjoy the (few) privileges that come with being (visibly) pregnant!

    • are you the one that is like a week behind me? maybe you’ll just pop overnight at some point. i had nausea but no vomiting, so my belly has just kind of been growing at a slow but steady pace since the start. i am kind of surprised when i see photos because i don’t feel as big as i apparently look. so far there haven’t been any real “privileges” or anything, but i also haven’t had to deal with any rogue belly rubbers or unsolicited advice-givers on the street, so i don’t mind.

  2. No unsolicited belly rubbing or obnoxious advice is definitely a good thing. I’d hope that people might be extra-solicitous and polite when they come across an obviously pregnant person…but perhaps not.

    I think I am a couple days behind you (due Jan. 19). I am definitely hoping to pop overnight any day now!

    • my original due date based on conception was january 17, but based on ultrasound estimates, it’s been switched to january 19. so we have the exact same due date! crazy! i wonder which one of us will go first…do you blog, or just read them? also, remind me how you stumbled across my blog? you’re not someone i know from zines, right?

  3. Nope, I think I ran across your blog from one of your comments on a Michelle Tea post on XoJane. I don’t blog, and mostly don’t read them, but I’ve really liked your perspective on all the baby craziness. There’s just so much crap out there, as I am sure you are aware!

    That’s crazy that we have the exact same due date. It’s also crazy that they adjusted your due date by two days based on an ultrasound–the level of precision is insane!

    • i think it’s awesome that we have the same due date! i’m in an online due date club, so obviously i am in contact with other women due around the same time as us, or even the same day, but it’s a group that has only our due date month in common & not necessarily much else. i know some of the stuff i write on my blog would be alienating to some of them.

      my due date has been all over the map. i used fertility friend to help conceive & based on charting, my due date is january 17. my first ultrasound put me at january 19. the next one said january 23. the next one said january 18. january 19 corresponds to my LMP & ultimately we just decided to go with that one. it’s all a ballpark estimate anyway. the baby is consistently measuring just a TINY bit small for the chart-based conception date…but maybe it will just be a small-ish baby. my partner & i were both slim children.

      how’s your pregnancy going? have you started stocking up on baby gear yet?

  4. Agreed! It’s really nice to have someone to talk to whose going through all the same pregnancy experiences at the exact same time. Definitely feel free to email me (I think you can see my email address, no?), we can be due date email buddies!

    My pregnancy has been going really well–in fact, I am shocked at how easy it’s been so far. Especially since I’ve been dealing with some health issues in the past year or two. I have escaped morning sickness entirely, and feel great now that I’m in the 2nd trimester. My primary pregnancy woes have been confined to insane tiredness in the first trimester, and lots of congestion (and nighttime coughing due to a post-nasal drip).

    No baby gear yet, I’m pretty intimidated by all of it. I’ve been appreciating your take on all of it, and wishing we had more garage sales around. Most people where I live seem to sell stuff on Craigslist, and while that’s fine, I always prefer to see something in person before committing to buying.

Leave a Reply

